Keychain in the signals of hope design
Frankfurter Buchmesse

Signals of Hope

* Campaign

* Digital Event Plattform

* Content Marketing

* Brand Platform

* Digital Branding

Digital event, web platform and digital campaign - A digital forum for the annual international Book Fair sends signs of hope to the world in 2020, a year characterized by a pandemic.

The Frankfurter Buchmesse is THE cultural event of each fall and always a place for socio-political discussions. But how to discuss topics such as climate, racism, sea rescue or equal rights when the gates of the fair are closed due to a pandemic - and how can opinion leaders participate in the discussion to bring it to a broad public? Together with experts inside and outside the fischerAppelt Group, we developed, implemented and launched the "Signals of Hope" concept for the Frankfurter Buchmesse 2020.

Jürgen Boos, Direktor der Frankfurter Buchmesse, vor Signals of Hope Log

Jürgen Boos, Director of the Frankfurter Buchmesse, in front of Signals of Hope logo

The task

In mid-June 2020, the Frankfurter Buchmesse commissioned us with the conception, development and marketing of a digital panel event.

Signals of Hope-Generator, Logo auf T-Shirt

Signals of Hope-Generator, T-Shirt

The execution

Under the guiding principle SIGNALS OF HOPE, the first digital and international panel event of the "Frankfurter Buchmesse" was launched. Inspired by the international signal flag alphabet, we developed a striking and playful visual language that presented the diverse program in a consistent, attention-grabbing and playful way - and one that could be picked up and amplified by multipliers.

On our virtual stage, people affected as well as experts from organizations such as the UN , Amnesty International  and Fridays for Future  discussed topics such as sea rescue, gender justice and climate change. Curator Mahret Ifeoma Kupka  posed questions about Black literature in Germany in a video essay. Poetry slams, readings, DJ sets (in collaboration with United We Stream ) and podcasts continued the themes on a dedicated website. Here, visitors and influencers could create their own SIGNAL OF HOPE and broadcast it to the world: #signalsofhope.

»

"Working with Fork was a treat. The people working there are smart and combine an in-depth understanding of content with great design and strong digital solutions. Even when we had to act quickly and many things had hardly ever been done before, the project always progressed constructively. My client-heart leaped with joy!”

Katja Böhne, VP Marketing & Communication Frankfurter Buchmesse GmbH
Webseite „Signals of Hope“ der Frankfurter Buchmesse

Signals of Hope entry page, with program

Signalflaggen-Alphabet für Signals of Hope

Signal flags alphabet

Signals of Hope, published on social media channels


The result

The message and design of Signals of Hope had an impact far beyond the actual program and were picked up by almost all media covering the "Frankfurter Buchmesse". Signals of Hope made its mark as the central message and look of the Frankfurter Buchmesse 2020. The conclusion of the organizers of the Book Fair was as follows: "What started as an exciting experiment turned out to be a great success: The aim was to transmit signals of hope during these difficult times: to the entire industry and to all fans of culture around the world. All of our expectations for this year's predominantly digital book fair were exceeded."

Responsive Layout

Responsive layout

Karin Schmidt-Friderichs vor Signals of Hope

Karin Schmidt-Friderichs in front of Signals of Hope Logo

Play Video

 

Walkthrough Webseite Signals of Hope

Signals of Hope, mobile view

mobile view

Signals of Hope, Signals on social media

Signals of Hope, signals on social media

Signals of Hope-Generator

- 7 Images

Gallery with different Signals of Hope motifs

Background Image: Signals of Hope
Frankfurter Buchmesse

Signals of Hope

* Campaign

* Digital Event Plattform

* Content Marketing

* Brand Platform

* Digital Branding

Digitales Event, Web Plattform und digitale Kampagne – Ein digitales Podium der Frankfurter Buchmesse sendet im Corona-Jahr 2020 Zeichen der Hoffnung in die Welt.

Die Frankfurter Buchmesse ist DAS kulturelle Event eines jeden Herbstes und immer auch ein Ort gesellschaftspolitischer Diskussionen. Wo aber diskutiert man Themen wie Klima, Rassismus, Seenotrettung oder Gleichberechtigung, wenn die Messetore pandemiebedingt geschlossen bleiben – und wie können Multiplikator:innen an der Diskussion teilhaben und sie dem breiten Publikum nahebringen? Gemeinsam mit Expert:innen innerhalb und außerhalb der fischerAppelt-Gruppe haben wir das Konzept “Signals of Hope” für die Frankfurter Buchmesse 2020 entwickelt umgesetzt und vermarktet.

Die Aufgabe

Mitte Juni 2020 beauftragte uns die Buchmesse Frankfurt mit der Konzeption, Entwicklung und Vermarktung eines digitalen Podium-Events.

Jürgen Boos, Direktor der Frankfurter Buchmesse, vor Signals of Hope Log

Jürgen Boos, Direktor der Frankfurter Buchmesse, vor Signals of Hope-Logo

Die Umsetzung

Unter der Leitidee SIGNALS OF HOPE entstand das erste digitale und internationale Podium-Event der Frankfurter Buchmesse. Inspiriert vom internationalen Signalflaggen-Alphabet, entwickeln wir eine auffällige und verspielte Bildsprache, die das vielfältige Programm konsistent, auffällig und spielerisch präsentierte – und von Multiplikator:innen aufgegriffen und verbreitet werden konnte.

Auf unserer virtuellen Bühne diskutierten Betroffene und Expert:innen von Organisationen wie UN , Amnesty International  oder Fridays for Future  über Seenotrettung, Geschlechter-Gerechtigkeit und Klimawandel. Die Kuratorin Mahret Ifeoma Kupka  stellte in einem Video Essay Fragen zu Schwarzer Literatur in Deutschland. Poetry Slams, Lesungen, DJ-Sets (gemeinsam mit United We Stream ) & Podcasts führten die Themen auf einer eigens entwickelten Webseite fort. Dort konnten Besucher:innen und Influencer:innen eigene SIGNAL OF HOPE erstellen und in die Welt senden: #signalsofhope

Signals of Hope-Generator, Logo auf T-Shirt

Signals of Hope-Generator, T-Shirt

»

Die Zusammenarbeit mit Fork war ein Fest. Dort arbeiten nämlich kluge Menschen, die inhaltliche Tiefe mit tollem Design und guten Digitallösungen verknüpfen. Auch als es bei uns schnell gehen musste und viele Dinge vorher so noch nie gemacht worden waren, ging das Projekt immer konstruktiv voran. Mein Kundinnenherz lachte!

Katja Böhne, VP Marketing & Communication Frankfurter Buchmesse GmbH
Webseite „Signals of Hope“ der Frankfurter Buchmesse

Einstiegsseite Signals of Hope, mit Programm

Signalflaggen-Alphabet für Signals of Hope

Signalflaggen-Alphabet

Das Ergebnis

Botschaft und Gestaltung von Signals of Hope zeigten weit über das eigentliche Programm hinaus Wirkung und wurden von nahezu allen Medien, die über die Frankfurter Buchmesse berichteten, aufgegriffen. Signals of Hope wurde zur zentralen Botschaft und zum Look der Frankfurter Buchmesse 2020. Das Fazit der Buchmesse fiel wie folgt aus: „Was als spannendes Experiment gestartet ist, wurde zum großen Erfolg: Ziel war es, in dieser schwierigen Zeit Signale der Hoffnung zu senden: an die gesamte Branche und an alle Kulturfans auf der Welt. Alle unsere Erwartungen an die diesjährige vorwiegend digitale Buchmesse wurden übertroffen.“

Signals of Hope, veröffentlich auf Social Media-Kanälen

Responsive Layout

Responsive Layout

Karin Schmidt-Friderichs vor Signals of Hope

Karin Schmidt-Friderichs vor Signals of Hope

Play Video

 

Walkthrough Webseite

Signals of Hope, mobile Ansicht

Mobile Ansicht

Signals of Hope, Signale auf sozialen Medien

Signals of Hope, Signale auf sozialen Medien

Signals of Hope-Generator